Article Diary - General Knowledge Digest

Medical Inventions and Discoveries

Banting – Insulin (a cure for diabetes)

Bernard Christian – Replacing the human heart

Brahmchari, U.M. – Cure of kala-a-zar fever

Domagk – Sulpha drugs as bactericides

Fleming Alexander – Penicillin (in 1929)

Harvey ­– Circulation of blood

Hahnemann – Founder of Homeopathy

Hopkins F. G. – Vitamin D

Jenner – Smallpox Vaccination

Koch Robert – Tubercle Bacillus

Lainnec – Stethoscope

Lister, Lord – Antiseptic surgery

Pasteur Louis – Treatment of rabies, cure of hydrophobia

Ronald Ross – Malaria parasite

Salk Jonas E. – Anti-polio. Vaccine

Simpson and Harrison – Chloroform

Wakesman - Streptomycin

4 (2)
Article Rating (2 Votes)
Rate this article
Attached Files
There are no attachments for this article.
Comments
There are no comments for this article. Be the first to post a comment.
Name
Email
Security Code Security Code
Related Articles RSS Feed
Colors - Commonly Asked Questions about Colors
Viewed 1035 times since Fri, Jan 29, 2010
Why do we dream?
Viewed 1586 times since Fri, Aug 13, 2010
Everyday Science Quiz Questions with Answers - Part 2
Viewed 3421 times since Sat, Dec 5, 2009
Scientific Terms Explained - N to Z
Viewed 2800 times since Sat, Dec 19, 2009
Inventions and Discoveries
Viewed 2980 times since Fri, Jan 1, 2010
Cardiology Quiz - Cardiology Questions with Answers
Viewed 2494 times since Wed, Dec 30, 2009
Capital of Countries
Viewed 3550 times since Thu, Dec 24, 2009
Scientific Terms and Meanings - Scientific Glossary Terms
Viewed 5665 times since Tue, Dec 15, 2009
Variety of Animals
Viewed 3044 times since Sat, Dec 26, 2009
Underwater Life
Viewed 1391 times since Mon, Feb 1, 2010