Article Diary - General Knowledge Digest

How to protect specific folder or disable directory browsing using htaccess?

Use the following htaccess code to protect a specific folder on your website or disabling directory browsing. This is useful if your folder doesn’t have a default index page and all files within that directory can be easily seen and downloaded by visitors. It is particularly useful if you are selling digital downloads such as zip files in a directory. To avoid that use the following code in the .htaccess file.
# disable directory browsing

Options All -Indexes
5 (1)
Article Rating (1 Votes)
Rate this article
Attached Files
There are no attachments for this article.
Comments
There are no comments for this article. Be the first to post a comment.
Name
Email
Security Code Security Code
Related Articles RSS Feed
What is rel="nofollow" attribute?
Viewed 1004 times since Thu, May 13, 2010
Open Source Trouble Ticket System - Jutda Helpdesk
Viewed 2298 times since Sat, Jan 9, 2010
Free Under Construction Coming Soon Template
Viewed 2362 times since Sat, Mar 12, 2011
CSS Positioning - Absolute, Relative & Fixed
Viewed 1598 times since Thu, Dec 3, 2009
10 Most Popular JavaScript Frameworks
Viewed 1328 times since Thu, Jul 8, 2010
13 Useful Javascript Syntax Highlighting Scripts
Viewed 1682 times since Mon, Jan 4, 2010
Plupload - Multiple Files Upload Script
Viewed 1589 times since Tue, Feb 9, 2010
Pastie - Pastebin to Share Source Code with Syntax Highlighting
Viewed 1212 times since Mon, Jan 11, 2010
How can I change session timeout value?
Viewed 1144 times since Tue, Apr 27, 2010
Making A Basic PHP Template System
Viewed 1235 times since Tue, Dec 8, 2009